Pervez Hoodbhoy

Pervez Amirali Hoodbhoy taught for 40 years at Quaid-e-Azam University in Islamabad and now, after retirement, is Distinguished Professor of Physics and Mathematics at Forman Christian College, Lahore.

He graduated from MIT with undergraduate degrees in electrical engineering and mathematics, and a Ph.D degree in nuclear physics. In 1968 he won the Baker Award for Electronics, and in 1984 the Abdus Salam Prize for Mathematics. He was visiting professor at MIT, Carnegie Mellon University, and the University of Maryland. In 2003 he was awarded UNESCO’s Kalinga Prize for the popularization of science. Dr Hoodbhoy is a sponsor of The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, and a member of the Permanent Monitoring Panel on Terrorism of the World Federation of Scientists.

In 2010 he received the Joseph A. Burton Award from the American Physical Society and the Jean Meyer Award from Tufts University. In 2011, he was included in the list of 100 most influential global thinkers by Foreign Policy magazine. In 2013, he was made a member of the UN Secretary General’s Advisory Board on Disarmament.